Thursday, September 16, 2010

Big B wins National Award for ‘Paa’

Amitabh Bachchan’s turn as Auro, a child suffering from progeria, in ‘Paa’ has won him his third National Award for Best Actor. And the first person to congratulate him on the triumph was his real-life son and movie dad Abhishek Bachchan.

Abhishek, who played Big B’s father in ‘Paa’ posted on his Twitter page, “I'm a very proud father today!!!!! My son just won the national award for his performance in PAA!!!!!!” He added later, "So excuse me for a while going off to do the monkey dance!!!!! Auro, auro, auro!!!!!!"

And the good wishes started flowing in from the rest of B'wood too.

Bipasha Basu said, "Congratulations to SrBachchan fr the most deserving national award fr PAA. Celebrations!"

Shilpa Shetty added, Well deserved National award, not that you need an award to reiterate your greatness as an actor:)"

And Arshad Warsi posted on Twitter, "Congratulation to the greatest actor this side of the hemisphere... We love you."

Big B had won the Best Actor National Award earlier for 'Agneepath' (1991) and 'Black' (2006). He had also picked up the Best Newcomer National Award for his performance in his debut 'Saat Hindustani' (1970).

So the win for ‘Paa’ makes it Best Actor National Award number three for Amitabh Bachchan, and with this he has caught up with Southern superstars Mammooty and Kamal Hassan who have each won the National Award thrice.

'Paa' also won the Award for Best Feature Film (Hindi) and got Arundhati Nag the award for Best Supporting actress. She played Big B's character's grandma in the movie.

Apart from 'Paa', '3 Idiots' also won big at the National Awards for 2009. The Aamir Khan starrer took home the award for Best Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment and Best Lyrics for Swanand Kirkire for the song 'Behti hawa sa tha woh'.

List of National Award winners this year:

Best Actor - Amitabh Bachchan for 'Paa'

Best Actress - Ananya Chatterjee for 'Abohoman' (Bengali)

Best Supporting Actor - Farooque Shaikh for 'Lahore'

Best Supporting Actress - Arundhati Nag for 'Paa'

Best Director - Raju Hirani for '3 Idiots' and Rituparno Ghosh for 'Abhoman' (Bengali)

Best Debut Director - Sanjay Puran Singh for 'Lahore'

Best Music: Amit Trivedi for 'Dev D'

Best Lyrics - Swanand Kirkire - 'Behti hawa sa tha woh' from '3 Idiots'

Best Producer - Vidhu Vinod Chopra for '3 Idiots'

Best Feature Film (Hindi) - 'Paa'

Best Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment - '3 Idiots'

Best Film on Social Issues - 'Well Done Abba'

Best National Integration Film - 'Delhi 6'

Best Feature Film (Marathi) – 'Natarang'

Best Feature Film (Bengali) - 'Abohoman'

Best Feature Film (Overall) - 'Kutty Srank' (Malayalam)

Best Special Effects - Kamal Kannan for Magadheera

Best Child Artists - Jiva, Anba Karasu for 'Pasanga' (Tamil)

Best Kids Film - Ottani Pati and Keshu

Special Jury Award - Editor Sreekar Prasad


Post a Comment

Blog Widget by LinkWithin